Dallas Symphony Orchestra Presents “Mozart & Prokofiev”

April 28 – May 1, 2022

Leonidas Kavakos, conducts

Alexander Kerr, violin

Meredith Kufchak, viola

MOZART, Sinfonia Concertante for Violin and Viola, K. 364

PROKOFIEV, Symphony No. 6

Tickets: www.DallasSymphony.org/productions/mozart-prokofiev/

At only 23 years old, Mozart composed his warm and witty Sinfonia Concertante, a clever combination of symphony and concerto, to display the exceptional skills of the string players in the Mannheim Orchestra.

Prokofiev’s Sixth Symphony, an extremely powerful and moving work, depicts the suffering and loss that Russia experienced after World War II.

“Now we are rejoicing in our great victory, but each of us has wounds which cannot be healed. One man’s loved ones have perished; another has lost his health this must not be forgotten…The first movement is of an agitated character, at times lyrical, at times austere; the second movement is brighter and more songful; the finale, rapid and in a major key, is close in character to my Fifth Symphony, save for reminiscences of the austere passages in the first movement.”

– Sergei Prokofiev

#DSO, #DSOMozartandProkofiev, #Dallassymphonyorchestra

Comments are closed.